Illegal Weapon Possession Charges

Texas is lenient about weapon possession compared to other states, but there are still laws in place that govern weapon possession and use. The state takes these laws seriously, and penalties for illegal weapon possession include fines and even jail time. Accusations of Texas weapons possession laws can lead to negative consequences, but securing an experienced attorney gives you the best chance at lessening or avoiding your charges. At Alexander & Associates, our legal team is dedicated to protecting the legal rights of those in Frisco.

Fines and Jail Time

If convicted of illegal possession of a weapon, you could face heavy fines and jail time. Charges for illegal weapon possession include:

Class A Misdemeanors: maximum of one year in county jail and $4,000 fine

  • Illegal possession of brass knuckles
  • Illegal possession of a switchblade

Third Degree Felonies: punishable by two to ten years in state prison and a maximum fine of $10,000

  • Possession of bombs, grenades, or other explosive weapons
  • Possession of a rifle with a barrel under sixteen inches long
  • Possession of a machine gun
  • Possession of a shotgun with a barrel under eighteen inches long
  • Possessing a zip gun or improvised handgun
  • Possessing a rifle or shotgun under 26 inches in length
  • Possessing a weapon within five years of release from jail for a felony or misdemeanor domestic assault charge

Contact an Attorney

Allegations of illegal weapon possession are serious, but an attorney can help you through this stressful time. If you are facing charges for illegal weapon possession, contact our Frisco legal team at Alexander & Associates by calling (972) 420-6560.