Can I lose my boating license from a BUI Charge?
Depending on your state’s law, you may lose your license. In the state of Texas specifically, all boaters who operate a watercraft while intoxicated face license suspension. For a first time offender, license suspension typically lasts 6 months. Repeat offenders of boating under the influence will likely face a license suspension of one year. First-time BUI penalties in Texas will also typically include a fine of up to $2,000 and between 72 hours and 180 days in jail. These penalties will be much harsher if any serious bodily injuries occurred.