What are the potential penalties for sexual assault in Texas?
Most sexual assault cases in Texas are charged as second-degree felonies, punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. However, in situations in which serious physical harm was done to the victim, or if a weapon was used in the assault, a charge of aggravated sexual assault will be levied and much harsher penalties are possible. Convictions of aggravated sexual assault can include penalties such as 5 year to life in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you are facing sexual assault charges, it is essential that you seek skilled legal representation immediately in order to protect yourself from the potentially dire consequences of a conviction. To learn more, contact the experienced Denton sexual assault lawyers of Alexander & Associates today at (972) 420-6560.