Lewisville Juvenile Drunk Driving Attorneys
Consuming alcohol while under the age of 21 is illegal in itself, but juvenile drunk driving can result in much harsher penalties due to the dual nature of this crime. Texas has a “zero tolerance” policy for minors, meaning that those under the age of 21 are not allowed to drive with any alcohol in their systems, even if it is below the adult legal limit of .08. Fortunately, the knowledgeable attorneys of Alexander & Associates can help Lewisville minors and their families handle these drunk driving accusations, potentially resulting in reduced penalties or even the dismissal of charges.
Possible Penalties for Juvenile Drinking and Driving
Texas takes a tough stance when it comes to juvenile drunk driving. Even first-time offenders can face the following legal consequences if convicted of drunk driving as a minor:
- Up to $500 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension up to 2 years
- Mandatory alcohol awareness course
- Community service
This one mistake can result in heavy penalties that may affect youths or young adults for the rest of their lives. Additionally, should a minor choose to drink and drive again, subsequent charges and convictions come with even harsher consequences.
Contact a Drunk Driving Attorney in Lewisville
Everyone makes mistakes, and you should not have suffer the rest of your life for a decision you made as a minor. If you are under the age of 21 and need legal representation for drunk driving charges, shoplifting accusations, and other common juvenile crimes, contact the experienced attorneys of Alexander & Associates today by calling our local Lewisville offices at (972) 420-6560.